The Beginning


My niece Jacquelyn is getting married in July 2009.  I have offered to make her wedding dress.  This will be the fifth wedding dress I have made over the last ~20 years.  I have made dresses for both my sisters, my sister-in-law and a friend.  I have plenty of time to get this done over the next 10 months.   My plan is to post as I go, including pictures on the status of the dress as well as the detail on how it is made.

We started this weekend with pictures and dreams.  She showed me several dresses she liked and  several she did not like.  It was a good start.  Her current view is to have a strapless gown with a corset-type design on the bodice and a scrunched skirt.  I haven’t done a scrunched skirt before.  I expect it wlll take an extra couple of feet of length to get the right balance.

I have given her the first assignment.  She is to purchase a good bra that will hold the girls where she wants them to be.  This is is preparation for building a custom dress form.

2 thoughts on “The Beginning

  1. This is going to be fun to watch! We had a great time doing my gown while being 3000 miles apart! My gown was everything I ever wanted and I still cherish it! Enjoy!

  2. I am getting excited about seeing the dress come together! It is going to be so much fun, and even more enjoyable since I am fortunate enough to have someone in my family make it for me. Your dress was beautiful!

Leave a Reply

